Ask an Expert

Please enter your login and password here



Please enter your login and password here


Welcome IHRS

In 2004, NASPE – North American Society of Pacing and Electrophysiology changed its name to HRS – Heart Rhythm Society to better reflect its membership constituencies. This 25th meeting of NASPE when the name change happened was held in San Francisco.

Dr K.K. Sethi, one of the pioneers in electrophysiology in India along with a long-time well wisher of the Indian EP community Dr. Sanjeev Saxena encouraged the idea of forming Indian equivalent of HRS i.e. IHRS (Indian Heart Rhythm Society). This was discussed with the budding electrophysiologists from India, attending the San Francisco meeting. Dr. Saxena, himself being a past president of NASPE realized the importance of such an organization for India. Dr. K.K. Sethi’s organizational skills apart from being a father figure for the young EP community helped to shape the formation of IHRS.

Dr. KK Sethi and Dr. KK Talwar thus became the patrons of IHRS, which was officially launched in 2005 with Dr. TS Kler as the first president and Dr. Balbir Singh as the secretary. The organizational groundwork was laid then.

Dr. Mohan Nair took over as the second president along with Dr. Ravi Kishore as the secretary. Relations within the Asian EP community were cemented and the 7th Asia Pacific Heart Rhythm Scientific Sessions were successfully held in New Delhi under the leadership of Dr. Mohan Nair.

Dr. C. Narsimhan was the third president of IHRS with Dr. Aditya Kapoor as the secretary. The Indian EP community from across the country came together not only interacting during the annual scientific sessions but successfully completed the IHRS – AF registry under the respected leadership of Dr. Narsimhan.

Dr. Balbir Singh is the current, fourth president of IHRS with Dr. Anil Saxena as the vice president. With the dynamic vision of Dr. Balbir Singh, more collaborative research and guideline suiting Indian environment are planned.

Dr. Amit Vora, vice president of IHRS is rejuvenating its website and making it more inter-active. Dr. Vanita Arora, treasurer from past two-terms is doing the thankless job of consolidating the organization.

Dr. Namboodri N is the new editor of IPEJ – Indian Pacing and Electrophysiology Journal, which was successfully launched and painstakingly run, single-handedly by Dr. Francis Johnson for over a decade.



  • Members - Full time life members with voting rights: All those with DM/DNB cardiology qualification or equivalent and interest in arrhythmia/EP : Fees Rs 10,000.
  • Associate Members - DM/DNB/Fellows during training period. Fees Rs 3,000. No voting rights.
  • International Members: Overseas doctors with appropriate qualification and interest in arrhythmias. No voting rights. Fees 300$.
  • Industry members: Industry personnel associated with arrhythmology can become members. Membership is non-transferable. No voting rights. Fees 25,0000.
  • Any Associate Members who become eligible for Full time life membership (on completion of training period), need to pay only the balance of Rs 7,000 (10,000 - 3,000) if this is one within 1 year after completion of training. If the application for Full time life membership is received after expiry of one year of their entry as Associate Members, the full fees (viz Rs 10,000) shall apply.
  • Membership application need to be endorsed by two IHRS Members.
  • The application forms received by the office of Secretary, IHRS would need to be finally approved by the credentialing Committee (comprising of President, Secretary and Joint Secretary, IHRS).

Please print this form and send appropriate DD/Cheque in favour of Indian Heart Rhythm Society, and send through post to the following Address:

Dr Anil Saxena
Director, Cardiac Pacing & Electrophysiology
Fortis Escorts Heart Institute
Okhla Road, New Delhi, 110025 INDIA
Secretary, Indian Heart Rhythm Society
Mobile: +91 9810025511
Secretary: +91 9910665566 (Ms Kumkum Sharma)